Blog Live: Coverage and Results of the 2022 New Mexico Primary Elections

New Mexicans vote on Tuesday to choose the candidates who will advance to the general elections in November.

Follow our live blog for the latest coverage and updates.

Update: 5:30 p.m.

Here are the latest vote tallies from the office of the New Mexico Secretary of State:

  • 225,604 total votes cast
  • Democrats: 122,333
  • Libertarians: 1,117
  • Republicans: 102,154

Update: 5 p.m.

The Bernalillo County Clerk’s Office confirmed there was a power outage at the Four Hills polling center. Authorities are asking voters heading in that direction to use nearby pitches instead.

Polls close at 7 p.m. statewide. As long as you’re online by then, you can vote.

Update: 1:00 p.m.

Here are the latest vote tallies from the office of the New Mexico Secretary of State:

  • 179,953 total votes cast
  • Democrats: 99,149
  • Libertarians: 796
  • Republicans: 80,008


Republican voters choose a gubernatorial candidate. There are five names on the ballot: Jay Block, Rebecca Dow, Ethel Maharg, Mark Ronchetti and Greg Zanetti. Ronchetti and Dow were the biggest spenders in this campaign – a million dollars or more ahead of their competitors.

In a KOB 4 poll conducted by Survey USA, we asked Republicans about their preference for governorship. 44% said they would vote for Mark Ronchetti. 23% of Republican voters say they are undecided.

Democrats choose a candidate for attorney general. Current Bernalillo County District Attorney Raúl Torrez faces off against State Auditor Brian Colón.

In the latest KOB 4/Survey USA poll, 38% of definite or likely primary voters said they had not yet made a decision about the election. Torrez voted 34% and Colón 28%.

All U.S. House seats will be up for grabs in November.

  • In Congressional District 1, incumbent Democrat Melanie Stansbury will go against Republican Michelle Garcia Holmes or Louie Sanchez.
  • In Congressional District 2, Republican incumbent Yvette Herrell will face Democratic challenges Darshan Patel or Gabriel Vasquez.
  • In Congressional District 3, incumbent Democrat Teresa Leger Fernández is being challenged by Republican Alexis Martinez Johnson.

Comments are closed.