List of EU countries that have completely removed COVID-19 travel restrictions for non-EU travelers

Following the improving COVID-19 situation and high vaccination rates, several European Union/European Economic Area countries have already lifted their entry rules for all travellers, including those from third country.

The list of EU/EEA countries that have dropped their measures and now allow unrestricted entry to non-EU travelers are as follows:

  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden

Travelers from non-EU countries can currently enter the 11 EU/EEA countries mentioned above, regardless of their vaccination status, reports

This means that non-European travelers are not required to present a valid COVID pass – a vaccination, recovery or test certificate – when reaching one of these countries.

All they need to do now is hold the necessary travel documents, such as a valid passport and visa if required.

Except for allowing unrestricted entry into these countries, non-EU travelers no longer need to worry about national COVID-19 measures, as the majority have lifted them.

Travelers from third countries as well as those traveling within the EU are no longer required to hold a vaccination, recovery or test certificate when accessing bars, cafes, restaurants, museums, theatres, shopping malls and other major events.

In addition to the countries mentioned above, Greece will also soon remove its entry restrictions for travelers from third countries. Greek Health Minister Thanos Plevris said all travellers, regardless of their country of origin, would be allowed entry without restrictions from May 2.

Furthermore, the same noted that except for allowing unrestricted entry to inbound travelers, they would also drop national COVID-19 measures. Travelers arriving in Greece during the summer season will not be required to hold valid COVID-19 proof when accessing different public venues and events.

On the other hand, some other famous destinations, such as Spain, France, Portugal, Italy and Germany continue to keep restrictions in place. Travelers from third countries must present valid proof when reaching these countries in order to avoid additional entry measures.

The decision of the aforementioned EU/EEA countries to ease their travel and national rules follows the improving COVID-19 situation on the continent.

Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that the European continent has reported 6,448,828 new cases of COVID-19 infection in the past seven days.

Regarding vaccination rates, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) reveals that a total of 890,580,539 vaccine doses have been administered so far in EU/EEA countries. . It is explained that 72.5% of the population have completed the primary treatment and an additional 52.9% have received an additional dose of vaccine.

Comments are closed.