Sweden will allow American travelers on June 30


Sweden will allow travelers from the United States next week, according to the country’s government.

Swedish Ministry of Justice said in an online update Thursday that it will exempt people living in the United States from its non-essential travel ban starting June 30.

In addition to the United States, visitors from Albania, Hong Kong, Lebanon, Macao, North Macedonia, Serbia and Taiwan will also be exempt from the non-essential travel ban.

Travelers will be required to provide a negative coronavirus test performed within 48 hours of arrival, regardless of their vaccination status, the ministry said.

Sweden has banned non-essential travel from countries outside the European Union and the European Economic Area (EEA) since March 2020. As of February, the country has required a negative COVID-19 test for entry.

However, the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) have define the level of risk of COVID-19 in Sweden at its highest level, which is “very high”.

The CDC says Americans should avoid traveling to the Scandinavian country and those who must travel should be fully immunized before leaving.

Earlier this month, the European Union opened travel to visitors from the United States, but gave respect to member states for the implementation.

Spain began allowing vaccinated Americans to travel to the country on June 7, while Greece opened travel to all tourists June 15.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.